Neurotech Reports’ editors announced the recipients of the 2008 Gold Electrode Awards, given annually to honorees in five categories. The award for best new product was given to Magstim for its new tDCS stimulation product. Nevro Corp., a Palo Alto, CA startup firm developing products for the pain neuromodulation market, received the award for most promising startup. Karl Deisseroth of Stanford University won the award for Neurotechnology Researcher of the Year. The award for most valuable nonprofit organization went to Neurotechnology Industry Organization, while the award for most valuable financial professional went to Chris Coburn of Cleveland Clinic Innovations. The awards were presented October 24 during the 2008 Neurotech Leaders Forum.